Not Working

  • by Lisa Owens
  • Narrated by Tuppence Middleton
  • 6 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Helen Fielding's Bridget Jones's Diary and Jennifer Close's Girls in White Dresses comes a sparkling debut told in vignettes that speak to a new generation not trying to have it all but hoping to make sense of it all.
Claire Flannery has just quit her office job, hoping to take some time to discover her real passion. The problem is, she's not exactly sure how to go about finding it. Without the distractions of a regular routine, Claire confronts the best and worst parts of herself: the generous, attentive part that visits her grandmother for tea and cooks special meals for her boyfriend, Luke, and the part that she feels will never measure up and makes regrettable comments after too many glasses of wine. What emerges is a candid, moving portrait of a clear-eyed heroine trying to forge her own way, a wholly relatable character whose imperfections and uncanny observations highlight what makes us all different and yet inescapably linked.

More

What the Critics Say

"A pin-sharp, utterly addictive debut." [Vogue (UK)]
"Full of crackling, voice-of-a-generation observations." [Glamour (UK)]
"A deadpan comic debut for the procrastination generation." (The Guardian)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Just okay.

Story jumped around too much. Has a character who displays bizarre behaviors and mood swings. At times it feels as though she's suffering with anxiety and depression. Overall, just okay.
Read full review

- Rachel Renee Foisy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-03-2016
  • Publisher: Random House Audio