Nineteen Seventy Seven : Red Riding Quartet

  • by David Peace
  • Narrated by Saul Reichlin
  • Series: Red Riding Quartet
  • 10 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If you thought fiction couldn't get darker than then think again. Nineteen Seventy Seven, the second installment of the Red Riding Quartet, is one long nightmare.
It's heroes - the half decent copper Bob Fraser and the burnt-out hack Jack Whitehead - would be considered villains in most people's books. Fraser and Whitehead have one thing in common though; they're both desperate men dangerously in love with Chapeltown prostitutes.
And as the summer moves remorselessly towards the bonfires of Jubilee Night, the killings accelerate and it seems as if Fraser and Whitehead are the only men who suspect or care that there may be more than one killer at large.
Out of the horror of true crime, David Peace has fashioned a work of terrible beauty. David Peace (born 1967) is an English author.
He was named one of the Best of Young British Novelists by Granta in 2003 and won the 2004 James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction. Also known for his novels GB84 and The Damned United, the latter was made into a feature film starring Michael Sheen.


What the Critics Say

"Quite simply, this is the future of British crime fiction." (Time Out)
"The pace is relentless, the style staccato-plus and the morality bleak and forlorn....Peace's voice is powerful and unique." (Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Elevates True Crime Fiction to Literature

The Red Riding Quartet is shocking, especially for those of us who really enjoy Masterpiece Mystery. The language is obscene, the situations are brutal, and the characters are vile. There are no heroes here; every character is deeply flawed. But his style is that of Literature with a capital L. Some of the passages read like free verse poetry. Symbollic imagery threads throughout the books. In "1980" there are many passages of stream of consciousness -- think Joyce's Ulysses. The quartet is a single story that unfolds over 10 years. Each book is very different: told from different characters' points of view. Each book has it's own style. We Agatha Christie fans need to be patient with these books because underneath all of the Evil, there is a very clear and certain Morality. A Morality that has been violated, but it is there in every book.

Truly, these books are not for everyone. They are absolutely horrifying, the stuff of nightmares, but they are also very beautifully thought out and executed.
Read full review

- Art Grrrl

Atmospheric, dark tale.

Great reader, and very dark story. The level of the writing is high and the characters feel authentic to their time and place.

I want more! Can't wait for the last two in the series.
Read full review

- John

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-07-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios