Regular price: $20.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Audie Award Finalist, Short Stories/Collections, 2014
The new collection from the New York Times best-selling author of The Leftovers and Little Children, featuring stories focusing on Perrotta's familiar suburban nuclear families.
Tom Perrotta’s first book, Bad Haircut, consisted of linked stories featuring a shared protagonist. Now, 19 years later, he has written and compiled his first true short story collection. This 12 story book features a group set in Perrotta’s trademark suburban setting, focusing on the fissures in families and unexpected connections among members of typical American communities, including “Senior Season” and "Nine Inches".
Others offerings here showcase Perrotta's assured, smooth writing, but may surprise fans with new protagonists and concerns. One of these twistier stories is “The Smile on Happy Chang’s Face”, which was the Boston Book Festival’s first all-city One City, One Story selection in 2010.
Following up on his dramatic and bestselling novel The Leftovers, which is being developed by HBO as a series, Nine Inches is a varied and interesting audiobook from one of our most thoughtful and elegant writers.
©2013 Tom Perrotta (P)2013 Macmillan Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Mark on 06-30-14

great short stories capture modern day life

These short stories try to capture modern life for teens and adults. They succeed with both. Many of there are absolutely phenomenal. Many are very good. Some were good but forgettable. A short story has to draw in the reader very quickly. These did so. Believable characters combine with interesting situations. It's impossible to rate a short story collection, because all stories will never be great. That was the case here. But I rated this 5 stars because the very best stories were just so good, and I cannot remember reading or listening to a book of short stories that I enjoyed as much. I will definitely explore this author further!

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By laurel putnam on 02-24-17

Where's the rest?

I enjoyed the writing and each of the stories but I want to know more! I'm not sure how the different stories connect, it feels unfinished, maybe I need to listen again...

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc