Night Things

  • by Michael Talbot
  • Narrated by Eric Bryan Moore
  • 8 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Built by a madwoman during the Victorian era, Lake House is a 160-room mansion in the Adirondacks with stairways that lead nowhere, bizarre rooms designed to distort the senses, endless series of mazelike halls - and a century-long history of violent deaths.
Lauren Montgomery, her son Garrett, and her new rock star husband Stephen Ransom have just arrived at Lake House, anticipating a long and relaxing summer. But what they don't know is that their rental home is actually a labyrinthine puzzle at whose center lurks something unspeakably evil....
An inventive and chilling haunted house story in the vein of Mark Z. Danielewski's House of Leaves, Michael Talbot's Night Things (1988) is a mixture of horror and fantasy from the author of The Delicate Dependency.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

thought it would be more scary.

First I have that Eric Moore did a fine job with this story. He had an excellent voice for the subject matter.

Now on to the book; it starts ok, then the pace slows down. I thought more would happen. but really not much did. I mean the house was cool. but I wish they explored it more. The mothers choice in men.. was awful, and her husband... well He was a jerk.
The kid " be friends" the monster thingy but, the last few chapters had me very lost. and when i was done with the book, I closed it, and thought, what? what just happened?


I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.
Read full review

- TinkerMel

Entertaining

This was my first Michael Talbot, but not my first Eric Moore book. The story was an engaging 3.5 star listen. It wasn't as scary as I thought it would be from the cover, title, and synopsis. But, it was still fun.

Eric brought the characters to life and, not to give anything away, was really impressive with his incantations. He delivered the quality performance I've come to expect, and still surprised me with the way he adapts and performs new scenes that are different than anything I've heard before. Overall a fun, fast listen.
Read full review

- J and M

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-26-2017
  • Publisher: Valancourt Books