Mystery Writers of America Presents The Prosecution Rests

  • by Linda Fairstein (editor)
  • Narrated by Cassandra Campbell, Paul Boehmer
  • 13 hrs and 36 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Best-selling author Linda Fairstein, who "makes legal issues more exciting than any high-speed chase" (The New York Times), presents these thrilling stories of lawyers under pressure, criminals facing the needle, and heartbroken families who hope for justice and who sometimes take it into their own hands.
In James Grippando's "Death, Cheated", a lawyer defends his ex-girlfriend against the investors who bet $1.5 million on her death. In Barbara Parker's "A Clerk's Life", a disillusioned clerk at a corporate law firm suspects the worst of his colleagues when one of the firm's employees is murdered. In Phyllis Cohen's "Designer Justice", an accused murderer thinks he's lucked out when he lands a high-priced lawyer, only to learn that there are worse fates than being found guilty.
This collection - filled with shocking twists, double-crosses, and edge-of-your-seat suspense - includes "The Secret Session", by Edward D. Hoch; "Designer Justice", by Phyllis Cohen; "Follow Up", by Jo Dereske; "By Hook or by Crook", by Charlie Drees; "The Letter", by Eileen Dunbaugh; "Spectral Evidence", by Kate Gallison; "Knife Fight", by Joel Goldman; "Death, Cheated", by James Grippando; "My Brother's Keeper", by Daniel J. Hale; "The Flashlight Game", by Diana Hansen-Young; "Mom Is My Co-Counsel", by Paul Levine; "Quality of Mercy", by Leigh Lundin; "The Mother", by Michele Martinez; "Red Dog", by Anita Page; "A Clerk's Life", by Barbara Parker; "Time Will Tell", by Twist Phelan; "The Evil We Do", by John Walter Putre; "Night Court", by S. J. Rozan; "Hard Blows", by Morley Swingle; "Custom Sets", by Joseph Wallace; "Bang", by Angela Zeman; and "Going Under", by Linda Fairstein.


What the Critics Say

"A stellar anthology…. consistently high quality." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

No Reasonable Doubt Here

I know, we're supposed to hear all the evidence before we reach a decision . . . but I felt morally compelled to stop when I realized, after the first story, that I'd be returning the book to the Penitentiary of Refunds.

It was. . an implausible, uninteresting story made up of cartoon-like characters lacking in even rudimentary skills of deduction. The idea that an editor would select such a yarn, from the hundreds or thousands available, is bad enough. To put it first in the series of stories is astoundingly bad judgment.

Not sure what it means, but I also found it a bit peculiar that although the editor is described as being a best-selling author of legal thrillers, my search on audible found nothing under her name but this sad volume.
Read full review

- C. Rogers

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-07-2011
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio