My Husband's Wife

  • by Jane Corry
  • Narrated by Rosalyn Landor
  • 13 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"It won't be so bad when you're there," says my new husband before kissing me on the mouth.
"I know," I say before he peels off.
Two lies. Small white ones. Designed to make the other feel better.
But that's how some lies start. Small. Well meaning. Until they get too big to handle.
For fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door comes an addictive psychological thriller that's already an international sensation.
When young lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind. But then she takes on her first murder case and meets Joe. A convicted murderer whom Lily is strangely drawn to. For whom she will soon be willing to risk almost anything.
But Lily is not the only one with secrets. Her next-door neighbor Carla may be only nine, but she has already learned that secrets are powerful things. That they can get her whatever she wants.
When Lily finds Carla on her doorstep 16 years later, a chain of events is set in motion that can end only one way.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An unexpectedly thoughtful and complex saga

Don't let the title fool you; this book is about more than a husband and a wife. There is a lot going on in this story and it requires attention to follow the different characters and plot lines. When the reader soon begins to untangle the yarns, however, the story will captivate.
Ultimately, I found that no detail of the story was placed without a reason, and there are a lot of details. The full experience of this story is worth the attention!
This is a great book, and I say "unexpected" because the description barely scratches the surface. This sweeping tale chronicles the lives of Lily, her husband Ed, and Carla, who grows from the precocious child next door to a beautiful, calculating and complicated young woman during the course of the story, which takes place over a period of more than fifteen years. There are other important people, of course, including a man whom Lily defends in court, who speaks in riddles, and to whom Lily is inexplicably drawn; The man in the shiny car who helps to shape Carla's perception of relationships; the brother who will never truly die.
The first several chapters of this book made me unsure if I would like it, but soon I was totally absorbed in the characters' lives. The author doesn't skimp on paradoxes within people and their relationships, the internal struggle of good versus evil, and the fact that people and situations are rarely black and white.
Ultimately, this rewarding book will absorb you, shock you, make you think about things in ways you maybe haven't before. The narration by Rosalyn Landon is nearly perfect for this book.
Lose yourself in the narrative and decide what your own truth is by the time you reach the end- you'll be surprised. This is a worthy book and I really do recommend it.
Read full review

- Candice

Twists and turns until the last word

I saw some bad reviews for this book, but I'm very confused by them because this book was so unpredictable and interesting. There were a lot of far fetched scenarios and odd moments but the story propels you to go with it. As cliche as it sounds, if you like Girl on a Train, The Broken Ones and Cut to the Bone just to name a few, this is a great stand alone mystery thriller. I recommend this book.
Read full review

- JK907

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-31-2017
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio