Regular price: $31.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"It won't be so bad when you're there," says my new husband before kissing me on the mouth.
"I know," I say before he peels off.
Two lies. Small white ones. Designed to make the other feel better.
But that's how some lies start. Small. Well meaning. Until they get too big to handle.
For fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door comes an addictive psychological thriller that's already an international sensation.
When young lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the secrets of the past behind. But then she takes on her first murder case and meets Joe. A convicted murderer whom Lily is strangely drawn to. For whom she will soon be willing to risk almost anything.
But Lily is not the only one with secrets. Her next-door neighbor Carla may be only nine, but she has already learned that secrets are powerful things. That they can get her whatever she wants.
When Lily finds Carla on her doorstep 16 years later, a chain of events is set in motion that can end only one way.
©2017 Jane Corry (P)2017 Penguin Audio
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Candice on 02-10-17

An unexpectedly thoughtful and complex saga

Don't let the title fool you; this book is about more than a husband and a wife. There is a lot going on in this story and it requires attention to follow the different characters and plot lines. When the reader soon begins to untangle the yarns, however, the story will captivate.
Ultimately, I found that no detail of the story was placed without a reason, and there are a lot of details. The full experience of this story is worth the attention!
This is a great book, and I say "unexpected" because the description barely scratches the surface. This sweeping tale chronicles the lives of Lily, her husband Ed, and Carla, who grows from the precocious child next door to a beautiful, calculating and complicated young woman during the course of the story, which takes place over a period of more than fifteen years. There are other important people, of course, including a man whom Lily defends in court, who speaks in riddles, and to whom Lily is inexplicably drawn; The man in the shiny car who helps to shape Carla's perception of relationships; the brother who will never truly die.
The first several chapters of this book made me unsure if I would like it, but soon I was totally absorbed in the characters' lives. The author doesn't skimp on paradoxes within people and their relationships, the internal struggle of good versus evil, and the fact that people and situations are rarely black and white.
Ultimately, this rewarding book will absorb you, shock you, make you think about things in ways you maybe haven't before. The narration by Rosalyn Landon is nearly perfect for this book.
Lose yourself in the narrative and decide what your own truth is by the time you reach the end- you'll be surprised. This is a worthy book and I really do recommend it.

Read More Hide me

95 of 101 people found this review helpful


By Lyn on 06-13-17

Totally unbelievable!

Would you try another book from Jane Corry and/or Rosalyn Landor?

Rosalyn Landon was perfect and I would listen to another book narrated by her but I wouldn't read another book by the author!

What was most disappointing about Jane Corry’s story?

The women were so smart but made to be so dumb! How can a 22 year old that has made it through law school still not understand the concept of wrong and right ! She was 22 with a grudge from when she was 10! Ughh just horrible !

Which character – as performed by Rosalyn Landor – was your favorite?

None !

Do you think My Husband's Wife needs a follow-up book? Why or why not?

Not really! I am an hour out from the ending and am having a hard time finishing it !

Any additional comments?

The story could have been so much better , it almost seemed like she got tired of writing half way through the book and threw in some cliches wrapped up in "suspense " and published it ! Nothing made sense at all even the inner thought of the little girl and the pencil case! She was 10 not 4! Just seemed as though there was no research done for these characters! The secret the protagonist was holding was so futile that the build up around it made you frustrated because it wasn't that bad of a secret to mull over! The little Italian girl was extremely smart but why would a 10 year old think that someone was going to murder them because they saw the word murder on a piece of paper? The mother kicked Larry out so why all the fuss about Lilly telling him to quit it ! They never really answered the question as to why she had the overaion to intimacy with jack ! Just to many unanswered questions! Why go to law school for all that time and try to be just like the women you blame for your mothers inevitable break up with a married man and subsequent lifestyle change? Nothing makes sense!!

Read More Hide me

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews