Monsoon Season

  • by Katie O'Rourke
  • Narrated by Stephanie Cannon
  • 5 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Riley refuses to call herself a battered woman - she doesn't fit the profile. When her boyfriend Ben hits her, she doesn't know what to call it. She does know to pack her things and run to the one place that feels safe - home. Riley discovers she's pregnant and her emotions become tangled. She can't shake the fact that she's still in love with Ben...
A horrific accident then turns Riley's world even more upside down, forcing her to accept help from those around her. Before she can begin to heal, she must learn the difference between being independent and being alone.
A gripping emotional drama, perfect for fans of Anne Tyler and Anita Shreve.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Kept waiting for something to happen

Is there anything you would change about this book?

There were so many descriptions of characters and their thoughts but so little tying them all together. That said, the descriptions were detailed. I just wished they hadn't felt so separated.

What was most disappointing about Katie O'Rourke’s story?

It was like the author spent a great deal of time developing character descriptions in separate "writer's workshops" essays and then plunked them into a book, instead of starting with a plot and developing it with characters. Listening to some of the characters' stories, I couldn't help but wonder, "What's the point?" For example, what was the point in going into detail of Donna and Dave's life together? What was the point of writing about their wedding plans? What was the point of going into Jack's and Ethan's relationship? To seem progressive or something? Those backgrounds had little or nothing to do with Riley's story.

Have you listened to any of Stephanie Cannon’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

This was my first book performed by Stephanie Cannon. I thought she did a great job.

Could you see Monsoon Season being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

Absolutely not; there just wasn't enough to connect them all.

Any additional comments?

Spoiler Alert: I'm glad Riley didn't get back together with Ben.
I wasn't disappointed when the "story" ended.

Read full review

- Barbara

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-17-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios