Miss Bun, the Baker's Daughter

  • by D. E. Stevenson
  • Narrated by Hilary Neville
  • 7 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

D. E. Stevenson's fine sense of characterisation and romance makes this novel a delight to read. It is a golden tale of ordinary, lovable people in a small town of Beilford. Sue, the Baker's daughter, makes an uncharacteristically impulsive decision to accept a post as housekeeper to Mr and Mrs Darnay, dashing her family's hopes of her marrying a local suitor. And when Mrs Darnay suddenly departs, Sue's position in the house is left open to idle gossip - Mr Darnay is after all an artist, and everybody knows what that means. But it is not until Sue is summoned home that she finally realises the strength of her feelings towards her charming employer.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Scotland as told by D. E. Stevenson

Another fine story by D. E. Stevenson, most of it set in Scotland, although "Miss Bun" does travel to London and The Netherlands. The title is an allusion to the card game "Happy Families". Players collect sets of four cards belonging to a family. The Baker's family is composed of Mr., Mrs., Miss, and Master Bun.

This is a story of Sue Pringle, the daughter of a baker, and her friends, family and employers. It is set between WWI and WWI, and is a complex tale. It includes romance, family conflict, the challenges of learning to know oneself, and much more. It also adresses the English/Scots class system as it was in those years between the wars.

Social history, entertainment, and much more. A D. E. Stevenson novel is always a delight. And Hilary Neville's reading of it brings the story and characters to life.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Lighthearted Stuff...

kind of like something written by Jane Austen's less talented cousin, but not bad. I get the feeling Stevenson never met a real artist because the one in her novel is a walking stereotype.
Read full review

- Douglas

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-29-2014
  • Publisher: Soundings