Midnight Blue

  • by Simone van der Vlugt
  • Narrated by Imogen Church
  • 9 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Amsterdam 1654: a dangerous secret threatens to destroy a young widow's new life.
Following the sudden death of her husband, 25-year-old Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Amsterdam is a city at the peak of its powers: science and art are flourishing, and Dutch ships bring back exotic riches from the Far East.
When a figure from her past threatens her new life, Catrin flees to Delft. There, her painting talent earns her a chance as a pottery painter. Slowly the workshop begins to develop a new type of pottery to rival the coveted Chinese porcelain - and Delft Blue is born. But when tragedy strikes, Catrin has a hard choice to make.
Rich and engrossing, Midnight Blue is perfect for fans of Tulip Fever and Girl with a Pearl Earring.

More

What the Critics Say

"A clever story about a strong woman." (Leestafel)
"A great historical novel, with thriller aspects and romance." (Biepmiepje)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-04-2017
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Limited