• by James A. Michener
  • Narrated by Alexander Adams
  • 23 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Pulitzer Prize-winning author James A. Michener, whose novels hurtle from the far reaches of history to the dark corners of the world, paints an intoxicating portrait of a land whose past and present are as turbulent, fascinating, and colorful as any other on Earth. When an American journalist travels to report on the upcoming duel between two great matadors, he is ultimately swept up in the dramatic story of his own Mexican ancestry - from the brilliance and brutality of the ancients to the iron fist of the invading Spaniards to modern Mexico, fighting through dust and bloodshed to build a nation upon the ashes of revolution. Architectural splendors, frenzied bullfights, horrific human sacrifice: Michener weaves them all into an epic human story that ranks with the best of his beloved best-selling novels.


What the Critics Say

"Michener the storyteller at his finest.... There are splendid and authentic scenes in the plaza de toros that are as dramatic as any written by Ernest Hemingway or Barnaby Conrad." (The New York Times Book Review)
", intriguing.... Michener is back in huge, familiar form with Mexico." (Los Angeles Daily News)
"An enthralling story.... Michener artfully combines the history of Mexico with the art of bullfighting, teaching the reader about both and telling a grand story at the same time." (St. Louis Post-Dispatch)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

areas around Mexico City comes alive

a great book concerning the Indians and miners Mexico . I particularly loved the bullfighting connection and the development of the Bulls
Read full review

- Marc


What did you love best about Mexico?

Enjoyed the history.

What did you like best about this story?

Bullfighting and Story of the Shiny Fish Bird- Amazing the lengths people go to find direction.

What about Alexander Adams’s performance did you like?

Granular Detail

Read full review

- Thomas

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-04-2015
  • Publisher: Random House Audio