Merrick : The Vampire Chronicles

  • by Anne Rice
  • Narrated by Graeme Malcolm
  • Series: The Vampire Chronicles
  • 11 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

At the center is the beautiful, unconquerable witch, Merrick. She is a descendant of the gens de colors libres, a cast derived from the black mistresses of white men, a society of New Orleans octoroons and quadroons, steeped in the lore and ceremony of voodoo, who reign in the shadowy world where the African and the French - the white and the dark - intermingle. Her ancestors are the Great Mayfair Witches, of whom she knows nothing - and from whom she inherits the power and magical knowledge of a Circe.Into this exotic New Orleans realm comes David Talbot, hero, storyteller, adventurer, almost mortal vampire, visitor from another dark realm. It is he who recounts Merrick's haunting tale - a tale that takes us from the New Orleans of the past and present to the jungles of Guatemala, from the Mayan ruins of a century ago to ancient civilizations not yet explored.Anne Rice's richly told novel weaves an irresistible story of two worlds: the witches' world and the vampires' world, where magical powers and otherworldly fascinations are locked together in a dance of seduction, death, and rebirth.


What the Critics Say

"Rice offers a haunting look at the separate but equally intriguing worlds of witches and vampiresļæ½" (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Merrick (Unabridged)

A moving a tale as only Anne Rice can tell. The story line flows flawlessly

Graeme Malcolm, an exceptional reading, pleasant to listen too.
Vocal tones and inflections done with prefection.
Read full review

- James

Narrator killed the story!

I honestly tried over a dozen times to get through this audio book but I eventually had to tap out! The narrator made this the most painful story to listen to. I deleted it without first fishing the story and just mined on to the next bookšŸ˜£
Read full review


Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-02-2000
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks