• Mercy Among the Children

  • A Novel
  • By: David Adams Richards
  • Narrated by: Bernard Clark
  • Length: 13 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 02-23-13
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Audible Studios
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars 3.4 (9 ratings)

Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Editorial Reviews

In Mercy Among the Children author David Adams Richards creates a small contingent of fully realized fictional characters. After endangering a friend, young Sidney vows a life of pacifism if his friend survives. Sidney keeps his vow even though his small-town neighbors take advantage of his gentleness. Much of the meanness in this rural enclave is caused by the fact of poverty. The sad shadow of poverty is cast here with sensitivity. Sidney’s son Lyle tries to defend his father, acting out when Sidney is blamed for a young boy’s death. The novel is told through Lyle’s soulful eyes. Bernard Clark’s poignant narration will make listeners return many times to this solemn novel.
Show More Show Less

Publisher's Summary

Sydney Henderson is a truly great man. As a young man, Sydney, believing he has accidentally killed a friend, makes a pact with God, promising never to harm another if the boy's life is spared. In the years that follow, the almost pathologically gentle Sydney holds true to his promise - at terrible cost to himself and his family. Stunningly beautiful and haunting, scenes from this magisterial novel will remain etched in the mind forever.
©2000, 2011 David Adams Richards (P)2012 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Mary on 06-03-17

Excellent read!

Living in New Brunswick only a couple of hours from the setting of this novel, I really enjoyed the story. It is very well written.

My only negative comment relates to the pronunciation of some of the French surnames (Belanger ) and towns (Tracadie and Chatham). Otherwise, the narration was excellent.

A huge thank you to David Adams Richards for writing this story about days gone by in rural New Brunswick.

Read More Hide me
1 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 02-22-17

whiny narrator

the narrator was very whiny. I could imagine him looking down and to the side of his shoes. I read parts of the book on Kindle and enjoyed those parts much more.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc