Mercer Girls

  • by Libbie Hawker
  • Narrated by Amy McFadden
  • 15 hrs and 20 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It's 1864 in downtrodden Lowell, Massachusetts. The Civil War has taken its toll on the town - leaving the economy in ruin and its women in dire straits. That is, until Asa Mercer arrives on a peculiar, but providential, errand: he seeks high-minded women who can exert an elevating influence in Seattle, where there are ten men for every woman. Mail-order brides, yes, but of a certain caliber.
Schoolmarmish Josephine, tough-as-nails Dovey, and pious perfectionist Sophronia see their chance to exchange their bleak prospects for new lives. But the very troubles that sent them running from Lowell follow them to the muddy streets of Seattle, and the friendships forged on the cross-country trek are tested at every turn.
Just when the journey seems to lead only to ruin, an encounter with a famous suffragist could be their salvation. But to survive both an untamed new landscape and their pasts, they'll need all their strength - and one another.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

And excellent story fiction novel

. I found it very interesting especially when I lived in Seattle Washington state and had gone on the underground tour back in the 1960s . It's an interesting historical based fiction novel . If you love history end historical stories from Western Washington state this book is for you . It is well written and excellent English .
Read full review

- jab

great historical read

Real historical background in this book,woven into a very interesting plot. Recommend this book very highly.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-10-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio