• by Herman Melville
  • Narrated by Dan Lazar
  • 7 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

These six short novels show Melville's cleverness and wit as well as his understanding of both the comic and tragic in everyday life. The collection begins with "Bartleby the Scrivener", in which Bartleby, a clerk in a law firm, suddenly starts answering all requests with "I would prefer not to", and mayhem naturally results. It is followed by "Billy Budd", about an angelic, innocent sailor who is punished unjustly. Also included are "The Apple Tree Table", "The Piazza", "I and My Chimney", and "The Happy Failure".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Fiction, Poor Audio

These long stories are all worth listening to. Unfortunately, the audio quality varies. In the case of one story, it's incomprehensible.
Read full review

- David

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-16-1999
  • Publisher: Books on Tape