Meet Me Under the Clock

  • by Annie Murray
  • Narrated by Annie Aldington
  • 14 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Two families. Two wartime loves. Their lives changed forever...
1940: As war closes in and the bombs fall, on the Homefront, two sisters must find their place in a new world of ‘men's' work, in which a telegraph can break your heart and nothing in the future is certain.
Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse were always like chalk and cheese. As young women, while Sylvia dreams of her forthcoming life married to fiancé Ian. Audrey can't bear the thought of being tied down by marriage and children. Instead she jumps at the career opportunities the WAAF throws her way.
Joining the ranks at RAF Cardington, she finds these new freedoms come with confusion and irresistible temptations. When she goes too far in one careless moment, the consequences will ripple through the whole Whitehouse family.
Meanwhile, Sylvia has come round to the idea of war work and, doing her bit, becomes a railway porter, much to Ian's dismay. Fetching and carrying are just not feminine, not like Sylvia's new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty's innocent, girlish nature hides a far darker secret that no one could guess…
As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, the two sisters must decide what they really want from life and if they're brave enough to fight for it.
A heartbreaking yet inspiring novel, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.

More

Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-27-2014
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd