• Meet Me Under the Clock

  • By: Annie Murray
  • Narrated by: Annie Aldington
  • Length: 14 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 03-27-14
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.0 (2 ratings)

Regular price: $24.78

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.78

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Two families. Two wartime loves. Their lives changed forever...
1940: As war closes in and the bombs fall, on the Homefront, two sisters must find their place in a new world of ‘men's' work, in which a telegraph can break your heart and nothing in the future is certain.
Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse were always like chalk and cheese. As young women, while Sylvia dreams of her forthcoming life married to fiancé Ian. Audrey can't bear the thought of being tied down by marriage and children. Instead she jumps at the career opportunities the WAAF throws her way.
Joining the ranks at RAF Cardington, she finds these new freedoms come with confusion and irresistible temptations. When she goes too far in one careless moment, the consequences will ripple through the whole Whitehouse family.
Meanwhile, Sylvia has come round to the idea of war work and, doing her bit, becomes a railway porter, much to Ian's dismay. Fetching and carrying are just not feminine, not like Sylvia's new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty's innocent, girlish nature hides a far darker secret that no one could guess…
As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, the two sisters must decide what they really want from life and if they're brave enough to fight for it.
A heartbreaking yet inspiring novel, perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.
©2014 Annie Murray (P)2014 Pan Macmillan Publishers Ltd
Show More Show Less

No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Liz on 11-01-14

Enthralling!

If you could sum up Meet Me Under the Clock in three words, what would they be?

Totally, gripping to the end!

Who was your favorite character and why?

All of the characters were brought to life. Cant choose one in particular.

What does Annie Aldington bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

Accent and voice change from female to male. Also puts "feeling" into the telling! Excellent narrator!

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Dont want to give story away. Suffice to say I was glad when the war was over and families could return to some normality!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By heulwen jones on 05-20-18

not bad

not a bad listen, it did drag a bit but I still enjoyed it .

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews