Mama Black Widow

  • by Iceberg Slim
  • Narrated by Bobby Spears
  • 8 hrs and 3 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mama Black Widow tells the tragic story of Otis Tilson, a stunning black drag queen trapped in a cruel queer ghetto underworld. In hopes of escaping the racial bigotry andeconomic injustice of the South, Otis' family journeys north from their plantation to an urban promised land. Once in Chicago, Otis and his siblings become prisoners to a wasteland of violence, crime, prostitution, and rape. This is the gut-wrenching tale of the destruction of a family and the truest portrayal of homosexuality in the ghetto ever told.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Dark, gritty and hard... Awesome!

The dark story of a black drag queens personal ( traumatic ) life. Scars the skin and the mind.
Intriguing till the end.
Read full review

- Matthew S. Hill

Imprinted Images In My Mind Forever..

Mama Black Widow is a haunting and gut-wrenching story of a black transvestite who's been through hell, hell's half acre, back to hell, and back to earth. There is no other way to describe this beautiful narrative; beautiful because of the raw truth to it- but terribly ugly when dealing with all of the hate and confusion in the story.

When we think of transgender people, people like Caitlyn Jenner come to mind- people who make bold choices with their lifestyles and have glitz, glamour, and popularity. Mama Black Widow shatters that glamorous image and shows the world what things were really like for poor, transgender and gay folks in the past few decades.

The journey that one takes with this book's narrative is daunting and incredible. The narration is perfect, the story line made my stomach lurch, my skin crawl, and my eyes water all at the same time. This book is real, gutsy, and completely worth reading or listening to more than once. I appreciate Iceberg Slim and I am honoured to have heard this profound story of struggle and bravery.

Read full review

- Wendi

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-16-2014
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc. and Buck 50 Productions, LLC