Love Comes Softly : Love Comes Softly

  • by Janette Oke
  • Narrated by Ruth Ann Phimister
  • Series: Love Comes Softly
  • 7 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When it was first published in 1979, this novel introduced inspirational fiction to people hungry for well-told stories based on Christian values. Since then, over a million copies have been sold, and it has been made into a popular Hallmark movie. Janette Oke has won the Christy Award, the Gold Medallion, and scores of other awards. Generations of fans have laughed and cried over this story of Marty and Clark, two grieving people thrown together by necessity who find unexpected love as they work together as a family.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good, gentle audiobook

At first I found the narrator's 5-pack-a-day voice irritating. However, Soon I was so entranced by the story of Marty and Clark and their lives on the prairie that I forgot my initial annoyance with the narrator.

This is a wonderful book full of great values and with endearing characters. While it *is* an Inspirational book, Oke's writing lacks the 'heavy-handed' preaching of some Christian Inspirational fiction. As someone who reads a wide variety of literature I found "Love Comes Softly" to be quite restful and entertaining without being bombastic in 'spreading the word.'

Two things about this book grated. I found it completely unbelievable that as a woman of her era Marty would not know how to bake anything but pancakes... Um... She'd been married how long before she meets Clark? What exactly did this girl expect to cook for her husband when they were married?I *know* there were published cookbooks at the time. Second. I would've liked more background on Marty and her family. She doesn't send any letters, or communicate with them at all. It seemed a bit simplistic. A bit more backstory would've added depth to her character.

Overall, an excellent book, sure to delight those longing for a good read in the vein of Anne of Green Gables or Little House on the Prairie.
Read full review

- W

Good story, unpleasant narrator.

I love this book and have a hard copy, but like to listen to them on my commute and during my workouts. It is a wonderfully sweet story. I love Janette Oke. However, I have to say that I believe the narrator was a mistake. She has a somewhat grating voice and she sounds very old, while the character in the story is a young woman. Very disconcering. I think this one is better read than listened to.
Read full review

- Kemo's Mom

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-22-2005
  • Publisher: Recorded Books