Longhorn IV: The Family : Longhorn

  • by Dusty Rhodes
  • Narrated by Gene Engene
  • Series: Longhorn
  • 12 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Fate has brought about a reunion with a brother Buck Cordell thought was dead. Hard work and perseverance brought both of them success beyond their wildest expectations.
But the loss of Buck’s best friend and partner caused him to re-examine his priorities and decide “Family” was the highest priority of all.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

First book in series I haven't rated five stars

STORY (western) - I have totally loved this series -- good writing, well-developed characters, lots of action and a great story line -- but this book was my least favorite. The series is about two brothers (Cody and Buck) who are separated by the Civil War and the murder of their parents by Indians. They are reunited in this book, which is kind of a spoiler but they mention it in the synopsis so I'm not giving away anything new. The reuinion is unexpected and totally awesome, but it's in the beginning of this book, and in my opinion everything that happens after that is anticlimactic. Heartwarming and enjoyable, but kind of just filler stuff.

PERFORMANCE - Mr. Engene is a great narrator. He has so many different cowboy character voices that he could read the phone book and make you feel like you're in the wild, wild west!

OVERALL - I'd recommend this series for family listening, as there's something for everyone to enjoy. Men and kids will enjoy the cowboy action, but I'm an adult female and I loved the story of the two brothers. There's no sex or cursing, and the only violence is Indian raids and cowboy shootouts. You should start with Book 1 and listen in order. Once you become acquainted with the brothers and hear their individual stories, you will want to continue until they're reunited.
Read full review

- AudioAddict

Longhorn IV

I have read the series in order and book IV brings it all together nicely. The importance of family comes through loud and clear in this book. Lots of action, cattle drives, travel by horse back, buggy, stagecoach, ship, river boat and train give a wide view of the west. This book covers the cattle drives, people moving into the west and the building of the railroad. I hope that this in not the last book in the series. Gene Engene narrated the entire series. His voice goes well with the wild frontier.
Read full review

- Jean

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-09-2010
  • Publisher: Books In Motion