Life in Defiance : Defiance, Texas

  • by Mary DeMuth
  • Narrated by Reneé Raudman
  • Series: Defiance, Texas
  • 11 hrs and 35 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a town she personifies, Ouisie Pepper wrestles with her own defiance. Desperate to become the wife and mother her husband Hap demands, Ouisie pours over a simple book about womanhood, constantly falling short, but determined to improve.
Through all that self-improvement, Ouisie carries a terrible secret: she knows who killed Daisy Chance. As her children inch closer to uncovering the killer’s identity and Hap’s rages roar louder and become increasingly violent, Ouisie has to make a decision. Will she protect her children by telling her secret? Or will Hap’s violence silence them all?
Set on the backdrop of Defiance, Texas, Ouisie’s journey typifies the choices we all face—whether to tell the truth about secrets and fight for the truth or bury them forever and live with the violent consequences.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Love her descriptions!!!

Mary E. DeMuth is a very good writer. I love her descriptions. However, in the three books there is very little story, and it moves very slow. Her characters tend to say "I'm sorry" and "you hear me" real often. Even so, the books are a pleasant read.
Read full review

- Kay

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-09-2010
  • Publisher: Zondervan