Regular price: $21.31

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The truth can be deadly....
The dazzling new suspense novel from the author of Remember Me This Way. Twisty, tense, impossible to turn off psychological suspense for fans of I Let You Go and The Widow.
It starts with a lie. The kind we've all told - to a former acquaintance we can't quite place but still, for some reason, feel the need to impress. The story of our life, embellished for the benefit of the happily married lawyer with the kids and the lovely home.
And the next thing you know, you're having dinner at their house and accepting an invitation to join them on holiday - swept up in their perfect life, the kind you always dreamed of....
Which turns out to be less than perfect. But by the time you're trapped and sweating in the relentless Greek sun, burning to escape the tension all around you - by the time you start to realise that however painful the truth might be, it's the lies that cause the real damage - well, by then it could just be too late.
©2016 Sabine Durrant (P)2016 Hodder & Stoughton
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Hiliary on 06-11-17

Narrator makes this

I was confused by the narrator at first but after the first chapter it totally made sense. Loved it. The story was ok but probably wouldn't have finished it except for the narrator was SO GOOD.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By MR on 07-16-16

brilliant!

As soon as I started this, I was hooked. Narrator perfect in role. Dark story, impending doom feeling from start to finish, redemption too late etc. would recommend to anyone.

Read More Hide me

16 of 16 people found this review helpful


By janice wildchild newman on 10-02-16

Very cleverly observed and put together.

Very cleverly put together, quite a frightening idea. I really enjoyed this book and it was well read.

Read More Hide me

12 of 12 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Heidi on 12-12-16

Everything I look for in a psychological thriller

At the age of 42, Paul Morris is, by all accounts, a failure. Still relying on the literary success of a book he published in his early twenties, he is a womaniser, a layabout, a conceited man who relies on the few friends who have stuck by him to get by with a minimal amount of work or effort. Just as his life is starting to unravel and he has to face moving in with his mother, a chance encounter with an old friend from college leads Paul to meet Alice, a successful lawyer and single mother of three teenagers. Initially seeing Alice as a needy widow and a chance to exploit, Paul is surprised when he finds himself falling in love with her. He is thrilled when he gets invited to join the family and friends on their annual holiday in Greece. But Greece holds a terrible secret, and soon Paul finds out that no one, and nothing, is quite as it seems.

Now this is what I call a real psychological thriller! With its rather slow pace, Lie With Me relies heavily on character development, clever plotting and a strong sense of place and time to reel the reader into its web – and the author does this very, very well. I love books where seemingly ordinary, everyday events suddenly turn to disaster, an underlying sense of dread and danger slowly building whilst the characters remain totally unaware, slowly stumbling down the path to their own undoing. Special kudos to the author for serving us up a rather unsavoury main protagonist, Paul Morris, whilst still enabling the reader to feel a sense of connection and empathy for the man. Despite his chauvinism, his womanising, his lying and cheating and using his friends for his own gain, I had moments when I felt actually sorry for Paul. And despite a logical little voice telling me that he got what he deserved, I never stopped barracking for Paul and hoping against hope that he would find happiness. Perhaps this trait is what made so many women fall for the man in the first place? To convey Paul’s charisma in the written pages of a book shows the author’s skill in presenting true-to-life characters that masterfully played out the story in my mind like a carefully chosen movie cast. I could see them so vividly, lying around the pool surrounded by olive groves, that I almost felt like I had been there myself, toasting pale British skin under a hot Greek sun.

Lie With Me had everything I look for in a psychological thriller, slowly building tension and a sense of certain doom, which made it impossible to put the book down. And of course the ending, though not totally unexpected by then, was very clever, casting all events of the past into a totally new light. A great read, one of my favourite psychological thrillers of the year. If you are looking for a good book over Christmas, don’t look any further, because Lie With Me has it all. Highly recommended.

Read More Hide me

By nota bene on 07-24-16

Brilliant. I loved it.

If you could sum up Lie with Me in three words, what would they be?

Gripping, beautifully written.

What about Kirk Bage’s performance did you like?

Good voice, excellent performance overall.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I just loved it. It's so well written, it's one of those audiobooks, if you were distracted for just one minute, you go back. You just don't want to miss a single morsel.

Any additional comments?

I loved Durrant's "Under your skin" - it's one of my favorite audio books. This latest one is just as good, or maybe better. If you like psychological thrillers, get this. You won't regret it.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc