Left Field : Lillian Byrd

  • by Elizabeth Sims
  • Narrated by Dina Pearlman
  • Series: Lillian Byrd
  • 7 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Lillian Byrd has been searching her soul after the gut-wrenching experience of killing someone in self-defense. Scrabbling to make ends meet, she takes a job as a quasi detective, solving life's little mysteries for a pair of eccentric women in one of Detroit's last prestigious neighborhoods. When she spots a corpse on the next-door lawn, she jumps back into honest work as an investigative journalist. Her friend, Mercedes, reveals that the dead woman, Abby Rawson, played on a women's softball team she manages and pressures Lillian into taking her spot. Softball turns to hardball when Lillian not only plunges into a love affair with the team's sought-after pitcher but also goes undercover as an exterminator, a squatter, and a charity worker to investigate Abby's death and the corrupt medical organization she worked for. No one on the team is above suspicion, and as they get closer to snagging the coveted championship title - and Lillian gets closer to discovering the dark truth behind Abby's murder - she fights to keep her new love in her life and literally save her own.
Filled with Lillian Byrd's trademark snark, nail-biting twists and turns, and a thrilling climax, Left Field scores a grand slam that'll leave listeners cheering in the stands.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great ending to the series

Sims wrote the perfect ending to this series. It was fun, the mystery was ramped up and the conclusion left me with a great big happy feeling.

This entire series is well worth a listen
Read full review

- Sheena at TheLesbianReview

I really have loved this series

I really have loved this series, Elizabeth Sims has a way of creating great adventures for Lillian Byrd. Dina Pearlman as always, brings the characters to life. I hope there's more to follow. I highly recommend this book and the entire series.
Read full review

- Dawn

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-03-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios