Land to Call Home : Red River of the North

  • by Lauraine Snelling
  • Narrated by Callie Beaulieu
  • Series: Red River of the North
  • 11 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It had taken four long, difficult years to tame the virgin prairie of Dakota Territory. Looking back through all the heartache and the body-breaking labor, Ingeborg Bjorklund knew that God had been with them every step of the way. Dreams that had turned into veritable nightmares had been reshaped with the promise of a new day rising, and her marriage to Haaken had been its sure sign.
Hjelmer travels west to work on the railroad, and, after sending only one letter to Penny, who has agreed to wait for him, he is not heard from again. As the months pass, Penny is pursued by other eligible suitors, and her love for Hjelmer is sorely tried. Will he ever return to keep his promise?


What the Critics Say

"Readers who want gentle romance novels should find this as appealing as the previous volumes." (Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

disappointing plot. it didn't breathe the same pr

this book was disappointing because the characters never seem to get where they wanted to be and had a hard time figuring out where they wanted to be. unlike other books in this series I didn't find the hope and promise of the new land and the future that people until the very end of the book.
Read full review

- oceanlover

#3 book in this Red River series

I feel like I am there for every event in the book! I really enjoyed the quilting bees because the women used the materials saved each year. Nothing was ever wasted: not food, sewing material, or anything. I enjoyed the men building wood buildings and buying more equipment to sustain the farms.

The characters are individuals whom I'd like to know.

Great narration also.

A suggestion: please number the books in each series. I have to go elsewhere to see what to listen to next.

A Colorado Listener and Book Reader
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-17-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio