Killing Mr. Watson : Shadow Country Trilogy

  • by Peter Matthiessen
  • Narrated by Mark Hammer, Norman Dietz, George Guidall, Barbara Rosenblat
  • Series: Shadow Country Trilogy
  • 17 hrs and 13 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

When Peter Matthiessen was 17, he was told the story of Edgar J. Watson, a popular and successful planter who had been murdered by his neighbors in 1910. This novel is Matthiessen’s attempt to piece together the life of a mysterious man who became a legend, and the dangerous legend that destroyed him.
During the Reconstruction Era, Edgar Watson grew up in the South at the mercy of a brutal alcoholic father and a vindictive mother. Witnessing the horrors of slavery, bilked out of his inheritance, and blamed in his youth for a murder he didn't commit, E.J. developed a reputation for violence that preceded him everywhere he went.
Finally, it brought him to a tragic and bloody end as his family watched in helpless horror. Borrowing an old local tale about a man who was killed by his neighbors, Matthiessen creates a powerful character. George Guidall's excellent reading brings this moving tragedy home to us with a passion.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

One of my favorite books I've ever read.

One of my favorite books I've ever read. Tragic and captivating. Loved it.
Read full review

- Dabutchur

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-14-2011
  • Publisher: Recorded Books