Regular price: $35.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In an irreverent new series in the tradition of Terry Pratchett novels and The Princess Bride, the New York Times best-selling authors of the Iron Druid Chronicles and Star Wars: Phasma reinvent fantasy, fairy tales, and floridly overwritten feast scenes.  
Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, a hero, the Chosen One, was born...and so begins every fairy tale ever told.
This is not that fairy tale.
There is a Chosen One, but he is unlike any One who has ever been Chosened.  
And there is a faraway kingdom, but you have never been to a magical world quite like the land of Pell.
There, a plucky farm boy will find more than he’s bargained for on his quest to awaken the sleeping princess in her cursed tower. First there’s the Dark Lord, who wishes for the boy’s untimely death...and also very fine cheese. Then there’s a bard without a song in her heart but with a very adorable and fuzzy tail, an assassin who fears not the night but is terrified of chickens, and a mighty fighter more frightened of her sword than of her chain-mail bikini. 
This journey will lead to sinister umlauts, a trash-talking goat, the Dread Necromancer Steve, and a strange and wondrous journey to the most peculiar “happily ever after” that ever once-upon-a-timed.
©2018 Kevin Hearne and Delilah S. Dawson (P)2018 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"When you put two authors of this high caliber together, expect fireworks. Or at least laughs. What a hoot!" (New York Times bestselling author Terry Brooks)
"Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne have rigged up an absurdly funny fantasy riff on the Chosen One story, and it had me laughing from literally the name of the first chapter Kill the Farm Boy ranks among the best of Christopher Moore and Terry Pratchett and is not to be missed." (Chuck Wendig)
"A rollicking fantasy adventure that upends numerous genre tropes in audacious style, the first installment of Dawson and Hearne's Tales of Pell series is a laugh-out-loud-funny fusion of Monty Python-esque humor and whimsy a la Terry Pratchett's Discworld." (Kirkus Reviews)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Bruce D. Parker on 07-18-18

Disappointing

I love the Iron Druid series and eagerly anticipated Kill the Farmboy . Maybe it was too much anticipation but this latest story is not so much clever as dopey, emotive and pandering. The humor attacks rather than amuses.
The narrator is a good one who I have heard several times before but the production destroys the performance by making much of the key dialogue so soft as to be unhearable while other parts slam your eardrums numbing them to continued listening. I was constantly adjusting my player's volume and even relistening in order to follow the story.
Between the sappy story and the poor production quality, I found it difficult to finish.

Read More Hide me

27 of 32 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Cindy Baker on 07-25-18

Luke Daniels is amazing

This is one of the funniest, most laugh out loud books I’ve read in a loooong time. The characters are all great, and the writing is sharp as a tack. Luke Daniels gives the best audio performance I have ever heard. Seriously, he’s amazing. He was one of my favorites after the Iron Druid series, and now I’d have to say he’s my favorite narrator ever. Buy this book. You won’t regret it.

Read More Hide me

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews