Keep the Home Fires Burning : War at Home

  • by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles
  • Narrated by Annie Aldington
  • Series: War at Home
  • 12 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The year is 1915, and the war is raging on.... The war was not 'over by Christmas' after all, and as 1915 begins, the Hunters begin to settle into wartime life.
Diana, the eldest Hunter daughter, sees her fiance off to the front but doesn't expect such coldness from her future mother-in-law. David's battalion is almost ready to be sent to the front, but how will Beattie's fragile peace of mind endure?
Belowstairs Ethel, the under housemaid, is tired of having her beaux go off to war, so she deliberately sets her sights on a man who works on the railway, believing he won't be allowed to volunteer. Eric turns out to be decent and honest, and he genuinely cares about Ethel - is this the man who could give her a new life?
The Hunters, their servants, and their neighbours soon realise that war is not just for the soldiers, but it's for everyone to win, and every new atrocity that is reported bolsters British determination: this is a war that must be won at all costs.
Keep the Home Fires Burning is the second book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1915, this is an evocative, authentic ,and wonderfully depicted drama featuring the Hunter family and their servants.


What the Critics Say

"An insightful look at the impact of war on everyday lives." (Choice)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


This is an excellent follow-up to Goodbye Piccadilly and one of the best WWI novels I have ever read. The characters are well thought out and each has a fascinating story of their own that weaves seamlessly into the main story. The narration by Annie Aldington is wonderful! She gives each character their own unique voice without overdoing it with phones accents and such.
Read full review

- John

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-18-2015
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio UK