Jungle Tales of Tarzan : Tarzan

  • by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  • Narrated by Shelly Frasier
  • Series: Tarzan
  • 7 hrs and 48 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this collection of 12 short stories, Burroughs returns to Tarzan's early years, providing new depth and detail to the Lord of the Jungle during his time among the great apes. Having learned to read from his father's books, Tarzan seeks to apply his knowledge to the world around him and to learn more about life, death, dreams, God, love, and friendship. Tarzan challenges his best friend Taug in a fight to the death, but then risks his life to save him; he has nightmares after eating rancid elephant meat only to awake and be faced with a live, man-eating gorilla; twice he sports a lion's skin to play a practical joke, but he doesn't always have the last laugh!
The Jungle Tales include:

Tarzan's First Love
The Capture of Tarzan
The Fight for the Balu
The God of Tarzan
Tarzan and the Black Boy
The Witch-Doctor Seeks Vengeance
The End of Bukawai
The Lion
The Nightmare
The Battle for Teeka
A Jungle Joke
Tarzan Rescues the Moon


Audible Editor Reviews

The sixth of 26 Tarzan installments written by Edgar Rice Burroughs between 1912 and 1965, Jungle Tales of Tarzan is a collection of short stories featuring the ape-raised man in a variety of exciting situations, depending on your tastes. Pleasantly performed by Shelly Frasier, Tarzan falls in and out of love, discovers God, and is mistakenly thought to have "rescued the moon". All throughout, Tarzan is his usual handsome, strong, sensitive self, complete with all the heroism of apes and all the moral virtue of an American man in the World War I era.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


These tales are so well written, it is hard to believe they where written so long ago. I enjoyed them very much, very exciting, fast paced and the best part is, they are clean and my grandchildren can listen with me.
Read full review

- Brenda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-30-2004
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio