Jeremy Poldark : Poldark

  • by Winston Graham
  • Narrated by Oliver Hembrough
  • Series: Poldark
  • 11 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Ross Poldark faces the darkest hour of his life in this third novel of the Poldark series.
Reeling from the tragic death of a loved one, Captain Poldark vents his grief by inciting impoverished locals to salvage the contents of a ship run aground in a storm - an act for which British law proscribes death by hanging. Ross is brought to trial for his involvement, and, despite their stormy marriage, Demelza tries to rally support for her husband, to save him and their family.
But there are enemies in plenty who would be happy to see Ross convicted, not the least of which is George Warleggan, the powerful banker whose personal rivalry with Ross grows ever more intense and threatens to destroy the Poldarks.
And into this setting, Jeremy Poldark, Ross and Demelza's first son, is born....
The Poldark series is the masterwork of Winston Graham's lifework, evoking the period and people like only he can and creating a work of rich and poor, loss and love, that you will not soon forget.


What the Critics Say

"From the incomparable Winston Graham...who has everything that anyone else has, then a whole lot more." (The Guardian)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Want the rest of the series!

Wish the rest of the series was available! 3 books out of 12 isn't enough!!
Read full review

- Sheri Fisher

Absolutely Loving This Series!

I have really enjoyed listening to this story, as I did the first two books in the series. Oliver Hembrough does a great job with the narration, I hope that he continues as narrator for the rest of the series.
The biggest disappointment with the series is that although the books were written over 50 years ago, they are only now being produced as audiobooks due to the huge success of the new
TV series. I eagerly await the release of the rest of the books as audio versions!
Read full review

- Julie B

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-21-2015
  • Publisher: Random House Audio