In From the Cold: The I Spy Stories : I Spy Something

  • by Josh Lanyon
  • Narrated by Alexander J. Masters
  • Series: I Spy Something
  • 6 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

I Spy Something Bloody
Espionage was always a game, but now British spy Mark Hardwicke wants to retire and settle down with ex-lover Dr. Stephen Thorpe - if Stephen will have him.
Unfortunately, Stephen has other plans - and so do the terrorists who want Mark dead.
I Spy Something Wicked
It's All Hallow's Eve and Mark Hardwicke's past has come back to haunt him. The Old Man needs Mark to go on one last mission to the wild, lonely hills of Afghanistan - a mission Mark knows he can't survive. Even if he does make it back, Stephen has made it very clear Mark is out of second chances. Should Mark place his lover and his own happiness before duty undefined?
I Spy Something Christmas
Nothing says Christmas like a bullet with your name on it. Mark is used to death and danger. Stephen will never be okay with violence - or Mark's attitude toward it. Like the holidays weren't tough enough on a romance.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Great set of stories and the perfect narrator. Josh is a wonderful writer, he is on my immediate purchase list of authors, and now that he has the rights to most of his stories he is making sure that his characters come to life with the right voice(s) Alexander J. Masters is amazing. Don't waste your money on "I Spy something Bloody" buy the complete set with "In From the Cold"
Read full review

- Heather

Perfect! suspenseful and romantic

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I would definitely recommend this audiobook. The story is so good - suspenseful and romantic, it's about decisions and fears and how they can affect someone's life, and you feel everything right along with the characters. Plus, the narration is one of the best i've heard, it really enhances how one experiences this story.

Who was your favorite character and why?

The two main characters are both favorites for different reasons, so since i cannot choose between them, I'll go with one of the secondary characters, namely Lena, the housekeeper. She's kind and sensitive and tough and observant. She knows how to pick her battles, she's fiercely protective, and she's willing to set aside her personal likes and dislikes so that someone else's happiness may prevail. I just love her.

Which character – as performed by Alexander J. Masters – was your favorite?

Mark, by far. Alexander does a superb job of bringing to light every nuance of this very complex character. I've never heard such a good rendition of character in an audiobook before.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Oh yes. I couldn't put it down when i read it, and i didn't want to stop listening once i started either. Very engaging.

Any additional comments?

I really liked how the flashbacks were done narration- and sound-wise. So cool.

Read full review

- KC

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-26-2013
  • Publisher: Just Joshin