Ice Land

  • by Betsy Tobin
  • Narrated by Davina Porter
  • 10 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A beautiful epic of love, longing, redemption, and enchantment in the tradition of Marion Zimmer Bradley's The Mists of Avalon.Iceland, AD 1000: Freya knows that her people are doomed. Warned by the Fates of an impending disaster, she must embark on a journey to find a magnificent gold necklace, one said to possess the power to alter the course of history. But even as Freya travels deep into the mountains of Iceland, the country is on the brink of war. The new world order of Christianity is threatening the old ways of Iceland's people, and tangled amidst it all are two star-crossed lovers who destiny draws them together - even as their families are determined to tear them apart.Infused with the rich history and mythology of Iceland, Betsy Tobin's sweeping novel is an epic adventure of forbidden love, lust, jealousy, faith, and magical wonder, set under the shadow of a smoldering volcano.


What the Critics Say

"Magic....[this] flight through the seamy side of Scandinavian myth is not as cold as the title might suggest. It's a story of sex, love, blood, and the twilight of the gods, punctuated with hot pools, boiling magma, and volcanic explosions. Very steamy!" (Diana Gabaldon)
"[Her] rich understanding of the source material, backed up by deft historical touches...brings the narrative to life." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The ancient past of Iceland

This was an excellent story weaving in Norse mythology along with ancient past of Iceland.
I loved the characters and especially Davina Porter's performance.
Read full review

- M. Hodge

hard to get into

I didn't get interested until half way through the book. I had trouble keeping the characters straight. if not for the narration of Davina Porter the whole book would have been a bust. Once I was half way through I was drawn into it and found it entertaining.
Read full review

- sandy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-25-2009
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio