How Lucky You Are

  • by Kristyn Kusek Lewis
  • Narrated by Coleen Marlo
  • 9 hrs and 38 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Emily Giffin and Marisa de los Santos, How Lucky You Are is an engaging and moving novel about three women struggling to keep their long-standing friendship alive. Waverly, who's always been the group's anchor, runs a cozy bakery but worries each month about her mounting debt. Kate is married to a man who's on track to be the next governor of Virginia, but the larger questions brewing in their future are unsettling her. Stay-at-home mom Amy has a perfect life on paper, but as the horrific secret she's keeping from her friends threatens to reveal itself, she panics.
As life's pressures build all around them, Waverly knows she has some big decisions to make. In doing so, she will discover that the lines between loyalty and betrayal can become blurred, happy endings aren't always clear-cut, and sometimes you have to risk everything to gain the life you deserve.

More

What the Critics Say

"A good choice for readers who enjoy the novels of Kristin Hannah and Patricia Gaffney." (Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

This Story Never Gets Old

This is a variation on the themes of "get me out of here" and facing personal demons with the inward-facing honesty required to effect any change and become a more balanced human being with a life that's on balance as well.

The story centers on the lives of three friends - all quite successful on the outside, but all immersed to varying degrees in the interior crisis mode that comes from asking yourself "what am I doing here?". They are people who are carrying on day-to-day lives that fit them, but only incompletely.

The book is well within the chick-lit genre, but has some life lessons that bear repeating, and like the title of this review, the novel's main story is about how each person tackles the life issues that frustrate, irritate, frighten, and intimidate. I'll only go for a book like this if its primary concern is not romance and relationships, and this novel deals with the larger questions.

I would have preferred a different narrator - Coleen Marlo reads way too fast and does not let the words sink in. I like her voice - it's different from who is usually on board with books like this, but she just races through the story without giving the reader time to digest each sentence. I am aware that there are speed settings for listening, but the results are not optimal and the readings always end up sounding muddy, not crisp. Perhaps the "happy medium" is what's needed here.

Still, the book is a good one, and for me, satisfied many of the reasons that I read.
Read full review

- Pamela Harvey

Kept me listening despite predictability

Any additional comments?

A fun listen, with a likable main character --- but the others were cliches. The financial situation of the main character was interesting and a good premise. As for the events in the lives of the other characters, we've seen a lot of them before, and their endings were no surprise.

Read full review

- Maureen McDaniel

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-21-2013
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio