Home to Cedar Branch : Quaker Café

  • by Brenda Bevan Remmes
  • Narrated by Bahni Turpin
  • Series: Quaker Café
  • 9 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

After a betrayal ends in tragedy, Katy seeks refuge from her abusive husband, Hank, in her quiet hometown of Cedar Branch, North Carolina. Taking up residence on the old family farm and landing a job at the local Quaker Café, she hopes to leave her troubled past behind.
At the café, Katy finds allies, kind people willing to protect her and offer advice. There's the gracious owner who insists that manners prevail, the no-nonsense cook who tackles life with a cast iron frying pan, a Yankee transplant who doesn't bow to convention, and a shrewd Southern lawyer who sees a chance for Katy to profit from her predicament. But when Hank discovers her whereabouts, Katy's newfound peace is broken. As a heated standoff involving Hank, local and federal law enforcement, and the media ensues, how far will the Cedar Branch community go to avert violence and save lives?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The Infuriating Rightness of Quaker Compassion

If you could sum up Home to Cedar Branch in three words, what would they be?

Nobody's Perfect, But....

What was one of the most memorable moments of Home to Cedar Branch?

I think we all can agree after listening to this book that a skylight has no business in a doctor's examination room.

Which scene was your favorite?

Inside the Quaker Meetinghouse, when not only the ex-husband seems to fall under the Quaker spell but the battered wife starts to lose some of her hate and anger.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, sitting on the deck with my coffee on a Sunday morning listening to this book was lovely.

Any additional comments?

If you ever wonder about the Quaker sensibility and feasibility of non-violence in our society, this book is a good one to see it in action in a humorous way.

Read full review

- CrzGzr

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-19-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio