Home Truths : McCabe Sisters

  • by Freya North
  • Narrated by Phoebe James
  • Series: McCabe Sisters
  • 15 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Freya North reunites her popular McCabe girls - sisters Cat, Fen, and Pip - in her warm and sexy new novel. Despite their mother having run off with a cowboy from Denver when they were small, and having been brought up in a draughty house in Derbyshire by their eccentric uncle, Django, the McCabe girls actually consider themselves very normal and well-adjusted. Pip is stepmother to 10-year-old Tom, Fen has a young baby, and Cat has returned to England to start a family. Their mid 30s are promising to be a time of comfort and contentment. However, at their uncle's 70th birthday party, an unexpected guest arrives, and old family secrets are unearthed. Soon, new bombshells are dropped. Each sister must confront her own identity crisis and handle the threat this places on relationships. Freya North has written a truthful, funny, alluring tale of mothers, daughters, lovers and liars.


What the Critics Say

"You'll laugh, cry, then laugh some more." (Company)
"An engrossing emotional drama that's sure to feature on best-seller lists soon." (Eve)
"Tangled mother/daughter relationships unravel and tantalising family riddles keep you glued to the end." (Cosmopolitan)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

It's All About Me

I can't imagine liking the three main characters (the McCabe girls), they are all self-involved and whine. A lot.

The story drags on, and the narrator is not very good at doing an American accent (it's high, overly cheerful and painful to the ear) and there's quite a bit of it too.

The only remotely interesting part was Jango's "issue" and his experience - and that's saying something.

If you're looking for something witty and fun, this isn't it. Give the McCabe Moaners some Prozac or just shut them up.
Read full review

- erudite

simply boring

I carefully chose my books to keep away from flops (because it's my precious time!). But "Home Truths" was one of the poorest selections I've ever made. There is not a single character that is in the least interesting, there is no story and above all the narration is so badly done that I simply had to quit listening halfway through.
Stay away from this title, it's a waste of time and money.
Read full review

- Andrea

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-05-2006
  • Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks