Holy Spy : John Shakespeare

  • by Rory Clements
  • Narrated by Gareth Armstrong
  • Series: John Shakespeare
  • 12 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, Holy Spy features the Queen's Intelligencer John Shakespeare in the latest of Rory Clements' acclaimed and best-selling series of Tudor spy thrillers.
Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, "does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's" (Sunday Times).
In London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy, young Catholic dissidents plot to assassinate Elizabeth, free Mary Queen of Scots - and open England to Spanish invasion. But the conspirators have been infiltrated by Sir Francis Walsingham's top intelligencer, John Shakespeare. Shakespeare, however, is torn: The woman he loves stands accused of murder.
In a desperate race against time, he must save her from the noose and the realm from treachery. And then it dawns that both investigations are inextricably linked - by corruption very close to the seat of power....


What the Critics Say

"Clements has the edge when it comes to creating a lively, fast-moving plot." (The Sunday Times)
"Enjoyable, bloody and brutish." (Guardian)
"Real quality...faster moving than C. J. Sansom...very, very well done." (Front Row, BBC Radio 4)


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-26-2015
  • Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton