Regular price: $15.48

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.48

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of C J Sansom and S J Parris, Holy Spy features the Queen's Intelligencer John Shakespeare in the latest of Rory Clements' acclaimed and best-selling series of Tudor spy thrillers.
Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, "does for Elizabeth's reign what C.J. Sansom does for Henry VIII's" (Sunday Times).
In London's smoky taverns, a conspiracy is brewing: a group of wealthy, young Catholic dissidents plot to assassinate Elizabeth, free Mary Queen of Scots - and open England to Spanish invasion. But the conspirators have been infiltrated by Sir Francis Walsingham's top intelligencer, John Shakespeare. Shakespeare, however, is torn: The woman he loves stands accused of murder.
In a desperate race against time, he must save her from the noose and the realm from treachery. And then it dawns that both investigations are inextricably linked - by corruption very close to the seat of power....
©2015 Rory Clements (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Clements has the edge when it comes to creating a lively, fast-moving plot." ( The Sunday Times)
"Enjoyable, bloody and brutish." ( Guardian)
"Real quality...faster moving than C. J. Sansom...very, very well done." ( Front Row, BBC Radio 4)
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Dr on 03-15-15

Excellent as always

Any additional comments?

This is a prequel to the other John Shakespeare books but no less enjoyable for that. The story is satisfyingly complex, combining a murder mystery with affairs of state. The characterisation and evocation of the sense of Elizabethan England is superb. The narration is very good for almost all the characters, but unfortunately slightly colourless for Shakespeare himself. I highly recommend this book.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Pamela on 07-26-15

Nearly but not quite.

It's not bad it's just that the character of Shakespeare never develops enough to actually care what happens to him. Somehow the plot and the other characters also don;t become three dimensional either. It feels like it should work and be an Elizabethan Brother Cadfael but it falls short.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews