Heard It All Before : The Montgomerys

  • by Michele Grant
  • Narrated by Simi Howe, Karen Pittman, Corey Allen, Avery Glymph
  • Series: The Montgomerys
  • 11 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Debut novelist Michele Grant pens a juicy tale in Heard It All Before. Best friends Jewellen and Renee think they know Dallas men like the backs of their hands. But that’s before Jewellen unexpectedly falls for a guy from the wrong side of the tracks, and Renee gets lured away from her own man by a hard-bodied hottie.

More

What the Critics Say

"Grant depicts their dilemmas with a pitch-perfect voice, delivering funny yet believable stories embellished with a gusto that readers who enjoy Carl Weber and Mary Monroe will relish." (Publishers Weekly)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Non-poetic urban storytelling

Bought the book based on the ratings and description (a lesson!) and was sorely disappointed by the excessive descriptives (do I REALLY need to know the details of what you're wearing and thinking EVERYTIME!?!) and overused idiomatic language (to substantiate the "downness", I suppose) that seemed to be a cover for telling a good story. I found myself rolling my eyes at the characters because I didn't like them and couldn't fit them into any reality. An urban tale spun by the ever so good looking, great job, hood to riches, quick witted (not really), got-it-all-together characters left me wanting. There was absolutely NO depth or sincerity. I'd advise the author to look at the writings of Diane McKinney-Whetstone or JD Mason to see how soulful love stories are spun. Black love is a beautiful thing and deserves a good telling.
Read full review

- Danee

Great Listen

Despite some other reviews, I thought this was pretty good. It kept my attention and some parts were even comical. I enjoyed it.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer "mature_student"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-22-2010
  • Publisher: Recorded Books