Regular price: $28.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Meet Harry Lipkin, the world's oldest private detective: part Sam Spade, part Woody Allen, all mensch.
Harry Lipkin is a tough-talking, soft-chewing, rough-around-the-edges, slow-around-the-corners private investigator who carries a .38 along with a spare set of dentures. Harry specializes in the sort of cases that cops can't be bothered with, but knows where to find good chopped liver for a fair price. He might not be the best P.I. in Miami, but at 87, he's certainly the oldest.
His latest client, Mrs. Norma Weinberger, has a problem. Someone in her home is stealing sentimental trinkets and the occasional priceless jewel from her; someone she employs, trusts, cares for, and treats like family. With the stakes so low and blood pressure that's a little too high, Harry Lipkin must figure out whodunit before the thief strikes again.
Sure to appeal to fans of Alexander McCall Smith, Harry Lipkin, Private Eye is sharp, funny, and irresistible.
©2012 Barry Fantoni (P)2012 Random House Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"[A] truly fine detective novel.... [The ending is] as startling to Harry as it is to readers. It's moving, too, and that's another break from the classic rules of the game. An offbeat beauty." (Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Linda on 07-26-12

A fun listen

This book appears to be something done for fun. It succeeds nicely. If you like something just a little offbeat and unexpected, you'll enjoy this take on the private eye genre. Kudos to both author and narrator.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews