Harry Lipkin, Private Eye

  • by Barry Fantoni
  • Narrated by Arthur Morey
  • 5 hrs and 11 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Meet Harry Lipkin, the world's oldest private detective: part Sam Spade, part Woody Allen, all mensch.
Harry Lipkin is a tough-talking, soft-chewing, rough-around-the-edges, slow-around-the-corners private investigator who carries a .38 along with a spare set of dentures. Harry specializes in the sort of cases that cops can't be bothered with, but knows where to find good chopped liver for a fair price. He might not be the best P.I. in Miami, but at 87, he's certainly the oldest.
His latest client, Mrs. Norma Weinberger, has a problem. Someone in her home is stealing sentimental trinkets and the occasional priceless jewel from her; someone she employs, trusts, cares for, and treats like family. With the stakes so low and blood pressure that's a little too high, Harry Lipkin must figure out whodunit before the thief strikes again.
Sure to appeal to fans of Alexander McCall Smith, Harry Lipkin, Private Eye is sharp, funny, and irresistible.

More

What the Critics Say

"[A] truly fine detective novel.... [The ending is] as startling to Harry as it is to readers. It's moving, too, and that's another break from the classic rules of the game. An offbeat beauty." (Booklist)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A fun listen

This book appears to be something done for fun. It succeeds nicely. If you like something just a little offbeat and unexpected, you'll enjoy this take on the private eye genre. Kudos to both author and narrator.
Read full review

- Linda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-10-2012
  • Publisher: Random House Audio