• Hannibal: Enemy of Rome

  • Hannibal 1
  • By: Ben Kane
  • Narrated by: Michael Praed
  • Length: 19 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 06-02-11
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Random House AudioBooks
  • 4 out of 5 stars 4.2 (18 ratings)

Regular price: $25.58

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.58

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the First Punic War, the Roman legions defeated and humiliated Carthage, their only serious rival for power in the Mediterranean. Now a brilliant young Carthaginian general, called Hannibal, is out for revenge. Caught up in the maelstrom are two young boys, Hanno, the son of a distinguished soldier and confidant of Hannibal, and Quintus, son of a Roman equestrian and landowner. A disastrous adventure will see Hanno sold into slavery and bought by Quintus's father. Although an unexpected friendship springs up between the two boys - and with Quintus's sister, Aurelia - the fortunes of the two warring empires once again separates them. They find themselves on opposite sides of the conflict and an alliance forged through slavery will be played out to its stunning conclusion in battle.
©2011 Ben Kane (P)2011 Random House Audio Go
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Rick Hancox on 03-14-18


brilliant outstanding incredible can't say enough. a great story narrated exceptionally now for part two.

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By David P. McGivern on 03-27-12

" Almost" as good as Iggulden

This was my first Ben Kane novel, ( at the start f the year I listened to the complete "Emperor" series, 4 novels by Conn Iggulden, so I am comparing Kane to Igguldon as a frame of reference) and there are many things to like. The idea to tell the story of Hannibal through the eyes/stories of young soldiers was an interesting ( and good) choice; the narration ( Michael Praed) is excellent; the Catheragian story as engaging as Rome ( and instructive, as most of the novels these days are about Rome). If I have a criticism, it is that the actual battle descriptions ( both leading up to and the actual battle) are somewhat difficult to follow by listening, as opposed to reading ( with assistance of maps). Otherwise, worth the credit. I will purchase " Sparticus" by the same author and narrator

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Steve on 04-13-13

Good start, shows promise

Having read the 3 book eagle series by Ben Kane I was keen to try his lasted

Roman offering.

An interesting start showing different sides of Roman life, how a high born man can accidentally become a slave of Rome.

Pretty good book overall, just need to see the next and I trust it will be just as good a listen.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Simon Hall on 03-27-15

Great Story and very well told!

Narration is excellent my favourite by far! I always look for him when listening to audio books. Great tale as well!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Lizzie on 07-04-17

Amazing reading draws you in to keep listening

If you could sum up Hannibal: Enemy of Rome in three words, what would they be?

Fast-paced, engaging, perfect.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

The battle scenes - descriptively written and read magnificently with such expression, making you feel like you are there, in the midst of the battle with the soldiers.

Any additional comments?

Highly recommend for those who love adventure books mixed with a historic account of Hannibal's attack on Rome. Can't wait to hear/read the others in this series. Amazingly written and read equally well.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc