Great Classic Hauntings

  • by Edgar Allan Poe, Washington Irving, Robert Louis Stevenson, more
  • Narrated by Geraint Wyn Davies
  • 2 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Feel the breath-taking tingle of suspense. Share the captivating horror of the supernatural in these six complete stories presented by a masterful reader. Includes:
"A Watcher by the Dead" by Ambrose Bierce: A corpse brings death, dereliction, and madness to those who would play with it. "The Body-Snatchers" by Robert Louis Stevenson: A never-ending demand for bodies for medical dissection delivers nightly horrors. "Adventure of the German Student" by Washington Irving: A German student, caught up in the tempestuous times of the French Revolution, is intoxicated by the beauty of a stranger, and pledges himself to her forever. "Dickon the Devil" by J. Sheridan Le Fanu: Barwyke Hall, isolated and sinister, is haunted by both the living and the dead. "The Fall of the House of Usher" by Edgar Allan Poe: The melancholy House of Usher afflicts its owner with a morbid gloom. Justifiably considered one of the best stories of this genre ever written. "The Open Window" by Saki: A nervous newcomer is overcome by a surprising visit!


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Excellent stories and narration.

This is a marvelous book which presents these classic ghost stories in a manner appropriate to the period in which they were written. The suspense and terror is not overly blunt, or obvious. Rather it is the intricacies of the dialogue and relationships . Be prepared to pay close attention to it.

Geraint Wyn Davies's narration truly brings the people in the stories alive. (Television viewers may best know Davies as "Nick Knight" the vampire Cop in this series Forever Knight.) Giving each character their own unique voice and cadence. You will quickly forget that just one person is delivering the dialogue and be drawn back in time directly into the story.

Patrick Clark
Vancouver, B.C.,
Read full review

- Patrick

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-09-2004
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.