Grass Crown

  • by Colleen McCullough
  • Narrated by F. Murray Abraham
  • 5 hrs and 53 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The magnificent glory of Republican Rome is threatened when a struggle for power erupts among the men who shaped its hard-won peace. At its center are two extraordinary leaders: Gaius Marius, the general who saved Rome from Barbarian invasions, desperately trying to extend his reign for a prophesied and unprecedented seventh term as Consul; and Lucius Cornelius Sulla, once Marius' most trusted right-hand man, now a dangerous rival hungry for his own taste of political success.
As the two men battle for position, they are surrounded by a new generation of statesman, soldiers and lovers, from Senate intriguers and their ambitious wives to the child of destiny, Gaius Julius Caesar.
An absorbing tale of a Republic fighting for its survival in a world of treachery, barbarism and never-ending war, The Grass Crown is a remarkable entry in Colleen McCullough's brilliant and unprecedented series on the rise and fall of the world's greatest civilization.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Warning Terrible Abridgement

I ordered this without realizing it was an abridgment. At least two thirds of the book must be missing. Audible you should be ashamed to even offer such a cheap hack job.
Read full review

- NewJerseyThomas

Don't bother with the Abridged version

Would you try another book from Colleen McCullough and/or F. Murray Abraham?

Yes, I've read the unabridged book and it was really, really good.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The abridged version was hard for me to follow even though I've read the book.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

Not really.

Any additional comments?

This was such a disappointing treatment of such a fine work. Please, please, please produce the unabridged versions of this series.

Read full review

- Kimberly Harlington

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-08-2010
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio