Regular price: $8.25

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $8.25

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This collection of short stories contains several gothic tales to bear macabre and chilling witness to writers as diverse as Thomas Hardy, Bram Stoker, Edgar Allan Poe and HP Lovecraft. These tales are designed to unsettle you, just a little, as you sit back, and take in their words as they lead you on a walk to places you’d perhaps rather not visit on your own.
Our stories are The Withered Arm by Thomas Hardy, The Judges House by Bram Stoker, Hop Frog by Edgar Allan Poe and The Lurking Fear by HP Lovecraft. These stories are read for you by many readers including Bill Wallis, David Healy and Richard Mitchley.
©2012 The Copyright Group (P)2012 The Copyright Group
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Die Falknerin on 10-23-13

Exceptional narrations of a classic quartet

Richard Mitchley reads the first two stories; I am never disappointed in his narrations.

Thomas Hardy's THE WITHERED ARM features feminine jealousy, country folklore, and acts of desperation. When a young bride finds her beauty fading, perhaps because of some "witchment," in her anxiety she attempts to restore her charms through extreme means.

In Bram Stoker's THE JUDGE'S HOUSE, a student rents an isolated old house so he can study for his exams in solitude but shortly finds he is anything but alone. The story is much-anthologized for a reason. Listening to it again, visualizing the details, I felt a chill in the air.

Bill Wallis gives a wonderful performance of Edgar Allan Poe's HOP FROG, in which a diminutive member of the court of a sadistic king designs and executes a poetic justice.

David Healy reads THE LURKING FEAR by H.P. Lovecraft with just the right amount of drama without going over the top. The narrator of the story, who describes himself as "a connoisseur of horrors" is drawn to Tempest Mountain, where "fear had lurked for more than a century" in the Martense mansion.

NOTE: In another review, I attributed the "Gothic Tales of Terror" series to "The Story Circle." This series is actually produced by "The Copyright Group" and the two have different narrators. My mistake...sorry!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc