Golden State

  • by Michelle Richmond
  • Narrated by Käthe Mazur
  • 9 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Dr. Julie Walker wakes on a summer morning in San Francisco to find a city in chaos. Today Californians are voting on a controversial ballot initiative that will change history. With the future of the state and the nation uncertain, the streets have erupted into violence.
Injured, Julie must make her way across the city by foot to the Veterans Administration Hospital, where her sister, recently returned from Afghanistan, is in labor. At the hospital a brutal scene is unfolding as a man who shares an intimate past with Julie begins to take his revenge. Throughout the ordeal Julie's estranged husband, desperate for reconciliation, sends out coded messages from the radio station where he is the well-known Voice of Midnight.
Five years in the making, Golden State is both a political thriller and a meditation on marriage, love, and loyalty. Like The Year of Fog, it is a page-turner with a philosophical bent.


What the Critics Say

"Nearly every feature of this mesmerizing novel is provocative, as Richmond explores the fragmented, hopeful lives of complex characters... Gripping, multilayered, must-read fiction." (Library Journal)
"Mesmerizing and intricate, Richmond's dissection of a California on the violent brink of secession from the nation provides the backdrop to her deeper inspection of the uneasy, fragile relationship between siblings...[a] riveting read." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Fabulous !

What did you love best about Golden State?

I enjoyed everything about this book - the characters, the narrative, the story. Excellent narration by Kathe Mazur. She brought emotional resonance to the story. This is one of the best books I've listened to this year !

Read full review

- Ruth Bain

So so

I was very hopeful after listening to The Marriage Pact. This more of a slice of life story, no mystery.
Read full review

- Rose Kash

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-04-2014
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.