Golden Days : Mrs. Tim

  • by D. E. Stevenson
  • Narrated by Hilary Neville
  • Series: Mrs. Tim
  • 6 hrs and 23 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Mrs Tim goes to the Highlands of Scotland and is involved in a plot to rescue a naval officer from the toils of a siren; but, alas, the best laid plans "gang aft agley".The characters are skilfully drawn, from the fierce Mrs London, with her heart of gold, to the garrulous Mrs Falconer, whose muddled stories of her girlhood make excruciatingly funny reading.The house party amuses itself with picnics and fishing excursions and is suitably thrilled by the flourishing ancestral feud of two rival clans, which has its origin in the dim past.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Mrs Tim Goes to Scotland

This is the second Mrs Tim book, and I would recommend you are familiar with Mrs Tim of the Regiment before you start on this one. I think anyone who didn't know the series would be lost if they started here, as it is assumed you are familiar with the characters and situations. This is a very gentle story, which I enjoyed listening to for the most part. Not a lot happens: Mrs Tim goes off to the Scottish Highlands for a holiday with her friend, and that is about it. I would have preferred it if the narrator had made more effort to voice the characters; there are a few half-hearted Scottish accents here and there, but none of the characters really come alive. Probably best suited to fans of the author.
Read full review

- Millamant

Travel to Scotland

I have only one fault to find with this delightful audiobook that allows the listener to share Hester Christie's (Mrs Tim) trip to the Highlands of Scotland. And that is the fact that the first part of this book, Mrs Tim of the Regiment, wasn't included as well. That introduction to the characters would have strengthened the work. However, everytime I listen I find myself traveling on that train with Hester, and fishing in that Loch, and swimming in the sea.
Read full review

- Jerri C

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-11-2009
  • Publisher: ISIS Audio Books