Girls in their Married Bliss : Country Girls Trilogy

  • by Edna O'Brien
  • Narrated by Edna O'Brien
  • Series: Country Girls Trilogy
  • 5 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Kate and Baba are in London, playing out the tragicomedy of their married lives to its surprisingly level-headed conclusion. Kate, feeling trapped in her grey stone house with her increasingly cold husband, tearfully looks for her dreams of romance elsewhere. And when Eugene takes terrible, implacable revenge, she naturally turns to her brazen friend Baba for help. But Baba, the bored trophy wife of builder Frank, vulgarly flashing his wealth and ignorance to the world, has her own problems without Kate drooping self-pityingly over her. And both women find unsuspected qualities in themselves as they learn to face reality.
The last book in the 'Country Girls' Trilogy, which began with 'The Country Girls' and was followed by 'Girl with Green Eyes'.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Devastating Final Chapter

This third and final volume of O'Brien's celebrated trilogy alternates point of view between the two "girls." It starts out with the spiky mix of rueful comedy and earned anger over the oppressive expectations for Irish women of the first volumes. It has some fantastically funny set pieces, and Baba continues to be a tremendously witty, hard-edged foil to more passive and earnest Kate. As the book progresses, things turn darker, and the epilogue is so sad and bitter, at times it's painful to listen to. I think some readers felt betrayed by the sadness of the final installment, but it exposes the reality of life for women raised in deeply Catholic countries and living in a society that keeps them in inferior roles, surrounded by men addicted to alcohol and misogyny. O'Brien's narration is riveting!
Read full review

- Steve M

Best of Country Girls Trilogy

I have the suspicion that many people buy The Country Girls trilogy but read only the first novel. If you are a guilty non-completer of this justly famed trilogy, listening to OBrien herself read is the way to go. She is a beautiful reader of her own work, and the final novel abd epillogue are what push the whole trilogy to the calibre of greatness. By all means listen to this!
Read full review

- Margot Gayle Backus

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-06-2011
  • Publisher: Audible Studios