Gareth and the Lost Island

  • by Patrick Mallard
  • Narrated by Patrick Mallard
  • 8 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Fast-paced and funny, Gareth and the Lost Island is a story about a scholar named Gareth Mintel. He thought he had everything he'd ever wanted. He was the youngest professor in the history of the University Arcanum and was already on the list to make tenure. Getting caught in the bedchambers of the wife of one of the Island Republic of Draconia's most powerful merchants changed all of that.
Before Gareth could count to 100 in any of the several languages he spoke, he found himself saddled with a seemingly impossible quest. He was commanded to find the Lost Island of Mascal and bring back proof of its existence. If he failed, he would be banished from the university. Problem was, the island had been lost since the Second Great Apocalypse some 13,000 years ago. That was just one of the several good reasons why no one else had ever found the island.
Not willing to let him go alone, Gareth was joined by his adoptive father, Dr. Tralnis Granitestaff, and their simian butler, Henry. Armed with a little more than Gareth's wits, Tralnis' Dwarven stubbornness, and a rather questionable magical talisman (that might have come from an ancient joke shop,) the odd little family set off on their quest.
Using what monetary resources they had, the trio managed to hire an old rundown freighter after they met the beautiful and perky Izzy Morgana. The Glorious Dawn was captained by her terrifying sister, Elizabeth Morgana. Together, with the rest of the motley crew of the Glorious Dawn, they set off on a globetrotting journey across Hadronus in search of Mascal. The quest would lead them to face angry pirates, reptilian slavers, irritable skeletons, and a venomous duck. Despite these challenges, Gareth hoped to find the Lost Island of Mascal and perhaps himself along the way.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-07-2015
  • Publisher: Venomous Duck Media