Regular price: $34.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $34.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Red Tent and The Dovekeepers, India Edghill breathes new life into the biblical story of Vashti and Esther with her signature historical richness, epic scope, and sweeping romance.
You may know part of the story already, but you know only what history has passed along. The story of how Vashti, queen of queens, the most beautiful woman in all the empire, defied the king, her husband, and so lost her crown. The story of how Ahasuerus, king of kings, commanded that the most beautiful maidens be sent to his court so he might choose a new queen. And you may know how he set the queen's crown upon the head of the virtuous and beautiful Esther, and how Queen Esther herself defied both king and law to save her people from a treacherous fate.
©2015 India Edghill (P)2015 Recorded Books
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Jackie M. Olden on 11-07-17

not what I expected...

I was looking for insight into the life and culture of Vashti and Queen Esther.

Read More Hide me

By G from WI on 07-22-16

Not worth your time

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

A glimpse into this time period with the author's take on some biblical characters was interesting.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc