Full of Grace

  • by Dorothea Benton Frank
  • Narrated by Susan Bennett
  • 6 hrs and 20 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The rich atmosphere of South Carolina, both Hilton Head and Charleston, is brought vividly to life by Dorothea Benton Frank, a South Carolina native who, with her exquisitely evocative prose, makes you smell the sea air, see the palmettos, and savor the sweet tea, but this time it comes with a side of antipasti.Hilton Head, South Carolina. Retirement heaven, at least it's supposed to be, but for Big Al and Connie, the move from New Jersey to this southern paradise has been fraught with just a few complications. Especially for their daughter, Grace.
Well, that's what she likes to be called. Her family insists on Maria Graziella. Seriously, enough with the Neopolitan. That might have been okay in New Jersey but now it's just plain silly and Grace at 31 is, horror of horrors, still unmarried. No wonder her family drives her crazy. Well, that and the fact that she's living with the man she would marry if they both weren't so commitment phobic. Michael is a doctor and a scientist and Grace has a good idea that he's also an atheist. Over the years, Grace has become a bit ambivalent about her faith but her family is as old-fashioned Italian as they get. The stage is set for a major showdown that might just change Grace's outlook on life, family, and the new South.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great audio book!

I really enjoyed this one and laughed and cried listening to it. The narrator was great with the accents. I really didn't want it to end.
Read full review

- Barbara

not impressed

While a fan of Frank's other works, this book left me scratching my head. I couldn't get into the story at all and found myself continually getting distracted and waiting for the story to pick up and for there to be some action. Instead the story just ended and I feel like it never started. Big disappointment.
Read full review

- Jaclyn LeRoy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-16-2006
  • Publisher: HarperAudio