Fugitive Pieces

  • by Anne Michaels
  • Narrated by Peter Marinker
  • 9 hrs and 16 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In 1940 a boy bursts from the mud of a war-torn Polish city, where he has buried himself to hide from the soldiers who murdered his family. His name is Jakob Beer. He is only seven-years-old. And although by all rights he should have shared the fate of the other Jews in his village, he has not only survived but been rescued by a Greek geologist, who does not recognize the boy as human until he begins to cry. With this electrifying image, Anne Michaels ushers us into her rapturously acclaimed audiobook of loss, memory, history, and redemption. As Michaels follows Jakob across two continents, she lets us witness his transformation from a half-wild casualty of the Holocaust to an artist who extracts meaning from its abyss.
Filled with mysterious symmetries and rendered in heart-stopping prose, Fugitive Pieces is a triumphant work, an audiobook that should not so much be listened to as it should be surrendered to.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Beautiful Pieces That Never Worked as a Whole

Would you try another book from Anne Michaels and/or Peter Marinker?

I don't know that I'd try another book by Anne Michaels since I found this one hard to get through. Structurally, I was really thrown by the 2nd part of the book and almost completely lost interest.

How could the performance have been better?

The narrator had some odd pronunciation quirks that may be due to American/Canadian/British English differences but some of them I thought "I think he's just wrong!" Most such changed pronunciations roll over me but not in this book.

You didn’t love this book... but did it have any redeeming qualities?

The story itself is tragic and interesting and there are very lyrical passages in the novel that I enjoyed. But at the end of the day, getting through it was a bit of a chore for me.

Read full review

- TiffanyD

This remains my favorite book

The beautiful language will always stay with me, I have read it three times, each time I appreciate it even more.
Read full review

- Rigadon

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-24-2013
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.