Friends and Heroes : The Balkan Trilogy

  • by Olivia Manning
  • Narrated by Harriet Walter
  • Series: The Balkan Trilogy
  • 12 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Bucharest has fallen, and Harriet and Guy Pringle have escaped to Athens in the nick of time to find several of their old acquaintances there already. But even Guy's eternal optimism fails him when he realises that his former employees feel no gratitude or loyalty to him. Guy and Harriet both come to realise that with Greece threatened by the Axis Powers, Athens is not the safe harbour they thought.
This is the third and final part of The Balkan Trilogy, which began with The Great Fortune and was followed by The Spoilt City.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

superb narrator

Harriet Walter is the finest narrator I have yet heard. Her ability to suspend disbelief is perfect. Her knowledge of other languages and accents is also perfect and highly educated.
The Balkan series is complex with many characters and nationalities. She not only balances and simplifies, but does overall service to the author by presenting these excellent books in a way that they are always clear and enjoyable to readers.
I know that she is a distinguished Shakespearean actress, but
Narration is a special art for which awards should be given.
Congratulations to Harriet Walter.
Read full review

- Kathleen

Brilliant novel in the glorious narration!

Brilliant, complex, fully rounded characters. Thls splendid book takes you moment by momentthrough the great turning point in the history of the 20th century. Harriet Walter's uncanny narration realizes fully each rich character.
Read full review

- Jeff Gillman

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-08-2010
  • Publisher: Audible Studios