Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Read the debut by the author selected to co-write a prequel to Dracula by the Stoker family! J.D. Barker's Forsaken is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and John Saul. Truly the birth of a new master in the genre.
Bram Stoker Award Nominee - Superior Achievement in a First Novel
"A talented writer with a delightfully devious mind!" Jeffery Deaver #1 International Bestselling Author
"Incredibly written, supremely creepy. I don't say this lightly: J.D. Barker is a force to be reckoned with." Tosca Lee NY Times Bestselling Author
"An ambitious debut… Witches, spells, miniature demons, and personal doubt give fans of horror plenty to latch on to… the plot moves at a brisk pace… a promising start to a planned series." Publisher’s Weekly
Book One of the Shadow Cove Saga
When horror author Thad McAlister began his latest novel, a tale rooted in the witch trials of centuries past, the words flowed effortlessly. The story poured forth, filling page after page with the most frightening character ever to crawl from his imagination. It was his greatest work, one that would guarantee him a position among the legends of the craft.
But was it really fiction?
He inadvertently opened a door, one that would soon jeopardize the lives of his family.
She wants to come back.
At home, his wife struggles to keep their family alive. Secretly wondering if she caused it all…a deal she made long ago. A deal with the Forsaken.
©2014 Jonathan Dylan Barker (P)2015 Hampton Creek Press
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
1 out of 5 stars
By West on 08-10-15

First audiobook I've ever stopped and deleted...

This story is very boring and the narration is just awful. I really tried to get through it, I made it to about 7 hours then realized I did not even care how it ended and it was a chore to listen to so I deleted it. The character development is extremely weak and I didn't really care about anyone in this book. It is no wonder I got this on sale for $3.95. Multiple times I found myself just thinking about something else because the book was so disengaging. Don't get me started on this lady's 8 year old girl voice... It sounds like she is doing the voice of a 3 year old that just learned how to speak. It was hands down the worst 8 year old voice impersonation I have ever heard in my life. She sounds like a character off of the cartoon Rugrats..

Read More Hide me

23 of 26 people found this review helpful

3 out of 5 stars
By Kelly Pivik on 08-10-15

I tried to finish it...

This book was difficult to get through. However, when you find yourself begging the narrator not to say the words to the spells because of the voice she uses, it's time to give up. Her voice characterizations were irritating, especially the 8 year old girl. As for the story, it was ok. The best part was the excerpts from the diary, not the main story itself. I was very disappointed. This had a lot of potential.

Read More Hide me

21 of 25 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Miss B. L. Donkin on 02-07-17

so scary!

that narrator! amazing! so much depth to the characters I just adored the story! I can't recommend enough! it really was a very scary listen very very well wrote

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Steinunn Anna Sigurj�nsd�ttir on 04-30-18

Hátíð the narrator

horrible whispering and dramatic narration ruins the book. I gave up after a few chapters so I can't speak to the story itself. I especially couldn't stand the voice of Ashley.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews