Forsaken: Book One of the Shadow Cove Saga

  • by J.D. Barker
  • Narrated by Christina Delaine
  • 10 hrs and 4 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Read the debut by the author selected to co-write a prequel to Dracula by the Stoker family! J.D. Barker's Forsaken is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and John Saul. Truly the birth of a new master in the genre.
Bram Stoker Award Nominee - Superior Achievement in a First Novel
"A talented writer with a delightfully devious mind!" Jeffery Deaver
#1 International Bestselling Author
"Incredibly written, supremely creepy. I don't say this lightly: J.D. Barker is a force to be reckoned with."
Tosca Lee
NY Times Bestselling Author
"An ambitious debut… Witches, spells, miniature demons, and personal doubt give fans of horror plenty to latch on to… the plot moves at a brisk pace… a promising start to a planned series."
Publisher’s Weekly
Book One of the Shadow Cove Saga
When horror author Thad McAlister began his latest novel, a tale rooted in the witch trials of centuries past, the words flowed effortlessly. The story poured forth, filling page after page with the most frightening character ever to crawl from his imagination. It was his greatest work, one that would guarantee him a position among the legends of the craft.
But was it really fiction?
He inadvertently opened a door, one that would soon jeopardize the lives of his family.
She wants to come back.
At home, his wife struggles to keep their family alive. Secretly wondering if she caused it all…a deal she made long ago. A deal with the Forsaken.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

RISE OF THE WITCH

I did like parts of this. There were some creepy parts to the story. I quit after 5 hours. The story was just good enough that I would have stuck with it, had it not been for the narrator. Christina Delaine is the female version of Scott Brick. Every single word, sentence, phrase is read in a whispery, conspiracy, breathy, campfire story tone. When you constantly read everything like it is the most scary thing in the world, after awhile you lose track of what is suppose to be scary and what is not. The eight year old girl, who is suppose to be normal, sounded creepy right from the start.

The writing is not awful and really shows some promise, but it is also not polished or good enough to survive the narrator. The story was not good enough for me to get a print version, but if you are really into paranormal, then you might like the print version.
Read full review

- Jim "The Impatient"

I tried to finish it...

This book was difficult to get through. However, when you find yourself begging the narrator not to say the words to the spells because of the voice she uses, it's time to give up. Her voice characterizations were irritating, especially the 8 year old girl. As for the story, it was ok. The best part was the excerpts from the diary, not the main story itself. I was very disappointed. This had a lot of potential.
Read full review

- Kelly Pivik

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-28-2015
  • Publisher: Hampton Creek Press