Forgotten

  • by Catherine McKenzie
  • Narrated by Kristi Burns
  • 9 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

If your old life vanished completely, should you try to get it back or create a whole new one? That's the intriguing question at the heart of Catherine McKenzie's Forgotten.
The smart, funny, and provocative story of a woman who returns home after being stranded for months in Africa by an earthquake, only to find that everyone in her life believed she was dead and moved on, Forgotten is captivating and thought-provoking contemporary women's fiction from the author of Arranged and Spin - a fresh and witty tale that will not be soon forgotten.

More

What the Critics Say

"For fans of The Good Wife, Catherine McKenzie's Forgotten is a pure, page-turning pleasure." (Gwendolen Gross, author of The Orphan Sister)
"By turns hilarious and heart-tugging.... A thoroughly enjoyable read!" (Juliette Fay, author of Deep Down True)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Chick-lit at its Best.

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Definitely, this book is well-written with interesting characters and an original plot.


What did you like best about this story?

It tackles the problem of what makes your life worth living in an original way. In the story, Emma sorts through influences of society, her mother, and the imprint her father's abandonment left on her and finds herself.


Which scene was your favorite?

That is a hard choice. There are lots of good scenes, but I think my favorite is when Emma comes home from Africa on a wintry cold day to find her apartment has been leased to a total stranger. Her pictures and many of her belongings are gone. Her bank account has been frozen. She has no money. The brilliance of this book is that this scene is funny and poignant. It is touching, but not heavy. It is funny first, and then thought provoking. Great book.


Who was the most memorable character of Forgotten and why?

All of the characters are well-written, but Emma is my favorite. She is an ambitious lawyer who likes a challenge. She went to law school to learn to argue so well that she would never again lose an argument. Yet, she takes a month off to go to Africa to fulfill the dying request of her mother. Very likable character.


Any additional comments?

This is for an adult audience. Some steamy sex scenes. Great book. I received this book free in exchange for an honest review.

Read full review

- pixledust "Because tales should be told."

Catherine McKenzie is a good fit for my reading pr

Would you consider the audio edition of Forgotten to be better than the print version?

I haven't read the printed version, but this is a good story.


Who was your favorite character and why?

Emma -- she's funny and "real"; at least she seems like she is easily a person in the real world I could be friends with.


Have you listened to any of Kristi Burns’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I have listened to Spin and Kristi Burns does a great job.


Any additional comments?

This audiobook was given voluntarily at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review via Audiobook Boom

Read full review

- Pemberley Proud "I'm a 40-something SAH mom who has come to "read" more audio books each year. They work better as my days are active and mobile."

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-28-2016
  • Publisher: Catherine McKenzie