Forgiving

  • by LaVyrle Spencer
  • Narrated by Constance Towers
  • 3 hrs and 3 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In is 1876, in the still-wild Dakota territories...Sarah Merritt arrives in the mining town of Dead-wood, intent on finding her runaway younger sister Addie and starting a newspaper. When she sets up her printing press in the middle of Main Street, she finds herself at loggerheads with the handsome, headstrong Sheriff Noah Campbell, who places her under arrest. From the battle of wills between Sarah and the Sheriff emerges a story of innocence lost and regained and a love destined to overcome all odds. In the tradition of Bittersweet, Vows, The Endearment and Morning Glory, LaVyrle Spencer has created a tale rich in feminine strength, determination, courage and surprising, magical romance.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Abridgement of Forgiving by LaVyrle Spencer

The book is wonderful, but this abridgement makes the story trite and meaningless. Why would anyone abridge such an author? Every part of the original story is necessary to get the entire picture and beauty of the book. the reader is good.
Read full review

- Marcy

Love the book HATE the Audible

What would have made Forgiving better?

Why they chose to abridge it is beyond me... they eliminated some key parts of the story making it feel forced and rushed. All of the elements of the two main characters falling in love were gone and the climax which was critical to the flow of the story was rushed through quickly to get to the end. Also, the narrator sounded like she was way too close to the microphone and you could hear her chewing and swallowing... passing by punctuation marks like they weren't there and just in general reading way too fast to enjoy the story. Just horrible! Buy the book... It's worth the time to read it yourself!


What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

Too rushed.


If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Forgiving?

Too much was cut already. For a book that cost full price, why not read the whole book as the author intended it. The book was beautifully written and had very tender, romantic moments that we all, for the most part cut. There was no build up in their relationship. One day they hated each other and the next they were getting married. And don't get me started on how chopped up the final scenes were when they finally resolved their conflict with each other! You should be ashamed of yourself to have hacked it up so much.


Read full review

- Patrice

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-26-2009
  • Publisher: Phoenix Books